Ever had this experience of hastily typing out an email and then send it to the wrong person? or made a spelling mistake or forgot to mention something in the email? We’ve all been there. Gmail has released a new update to the email service’s iOS app that lets you now undo emails you have sent erroneously.
The new feature comes as part of the biggest re-design of the Gmail iPhone app in 4 years that makes it look similar to the version for Android as well as adding a few new features.
Google added the undo send feature to its email service for the web as well as for Android last year, but it has been one of the most-needed features on the iOS version.
When you send an email, a black bar will appear at the bottom of the screen giving you the chance to undo it for five seconds. During this time, the app is essentially holding the email in quarantine until the five seconds expires, at which point it will actually be sent.
— Jesse Middleton (@srcasm) November 7, 2016
If you undo, you’ll be taken back to the email compose screen where you can make any necessary changes to the email. The feature works whether or not you have “undo send” activated on the web version of Gmail.